Crave: A modern WordPress theme with appetizing aesthetic

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How to drive traffic to a new blog in 2014? Is SEO dead?

Default How to drive traffic to a new blog in 2014? Is SEO dead?

Hello Everyone,

I am new to Website Babble and I need help. My WordPress blog went live a month ago and I am struggling to drive traffic to the my blog. When it comes to blogging, does the age of your blog matter? The older the blog, the more links you can get to your blog? As for SEO, is it dead? I am using the All in One SEO plugin but I cannot see my blog in search engines for my keywords.

What did I do in the last month?

-10 posts
    - Shared on social media -Facebook, Twitter, Google+,Pinterest ,Instagram, StumbleUpon, Tumblr, digg.com
    -Joined Triberr.com
    -Submitted sitemap to Google and Bing

Am I doing anything wrong? or should I be patient? I am getting some traffic from Facebook and Twitter but that's it and I also have a feeling most of my clicks are from my family and friends

Great question.

You're not doing anything wrong per say, but you do have to adjust your expectations accordingly in this new world we live in.

The Internet is immensely saturated and people are inundated with new content in their feeds. So it takes a lot more to get their attention than it would have years ago. Not to mention SEO has changed so ranking a site is more challenging -- especially if you haven't narrowed your site down enough.

How specific is your content? For example, health is not a niche. It's a topic. But diets for heart attack survivors is a more defined niche that could be easier to rank for than a generic health site. So having a niche site will help you get more organic traffic from Google.