Crave: A modern WordPress theme with appetizing aesthetic

Thread: I've had 4 hosts along the way, and there seems to be no manual for newbies

Default I've had 4 hosts along the way, and there seems to be no manual for newbies

i started with Brinkster back in college, because somebody recommended them, and because they were mostly free at first i was patient and learned a lot. I bought my domains at Godaddy because someone on the web said always buy your domain in a different place than where it is hosted. i tried a few sites on that host but i was woefully unprepared for constant content creation and all the work it took. then i went to Hostgator and put up a few things.
    THEN i realized i needed a host that could serve up asp.net since that is what i studied Computer Science with in college, so i went to Arvixe.com.
    I have found all of them to be so unhelpful to the newbie. it took hours and hours before i could find out why some asp.net pages worked and others didnt. the support guy suggested a virtual directory. i found out what one is by Googling, but for the life of me i couldn't figure out how to make one on arvixe.com.
    so there my sites sit. on all these hosts.
    costing me around $40 dollars per month because i haven't had time to learn Filezilla and take them down yet. :-) Plus i am sentimental about them, always hoping one day to turn them into something.
    My QUESTION is:
    where does one go to learn about how webhosts work? is it just a matter of repeatedly calling customer support? is there a good manual?

How about odesk? have you found good advice for the price there?

What is your website about? $40 a month is absolutely crazy for a start-up website (assuming it's a start-up website). Why not use Wordpress? You can get a basic hosting account at GoDaddy for just $8-ish a month, and you get unlimited domains. It's easy to use as well.

Default i have 4 different crap sites, that's why

Quote Originally Posted by Jay View Post