How to Customize a WordPress Theme

Thread: Help!!!! How do I make an online market similar to ebay??

Unhappy Help!!!! How do I make an online market similar to ebay??

Hello everyone,

I have had NO experience with making websites, and I have had an idea for a long time which I have been dying to make, but I need someone to start me off in the right direction.
    I am a hardcore Irish dancer, and wanted to create an online market for used and new irish dance equipment/shoes. My idea was that people could log in and post their own items, descriptions, pictures and prices, and there would be no list fees, and then people would search for the items and if they wanted to purchase something, the transactions could happen through paypal. Thus, it would be sort of like eBay, because you post your own items and prices.
    I am desperate for someone to help me on this! I would appreciate it so much. Can you at least tell me what program I should use to design this website, or what book I should buy to carry this idea out? Thank you so much!!

Hi irishdancer,

First of all, welcome.

Second of all.... wow what a task. If I were you (assuming you don't want to learn how to do complex programming), I'd hire someone. There is no software program that is going to just create or setup a complex site like ebay. You are going to need custom programming and scripts to carry this out. Rentacoder.com is a place where you can outsource a programmer and they will give you a quote based on what you need done. I've used them for some Flash work and I love the system and how it works.

Just understand that if you do create something like this you are going to have to learn how to maintain it going forward. You'll need to make sure your data is protected from hackers who may try to compromise your data, etc. There's quite a lot of hidden work involved in these types of sites.