How to Customize a WordPress Theme

Thread: Traffic and Monetization Aside.....

Default Traffic and Monetization Aside.....

For those that don't know I write a blog for I.T. Professionals. The idea behind the blog is to post about some crazy bizarre fixes that I haven't seen blogged about 100 times already (hopefully). It is even more focused than that, only specializing on technologies I work with personally in my regular 9-5.

Traffic and monetization aside, I think the ultimate success is when you see other experts in the I.T field referencing your blog posts as the intended fixes for a problem. Or, it being the actual fix.

I give away a lot of free expert help on Experts-Exchange. I am a designated expert. They keep it competitive by awarding points for correct and assisted answers. Sometimes its a bit of a race to see who can help first. It gets interesting when someone beats you to the punch with your own blog post and gets the points for posting it. LOL.

Anyway.....head swelling is now returning to normal. I can fit through all doors in my house once again.

I get a lot of viewership from India as well. So I can only assume some tech support call center is viewing my stuff too.

I had a coworker that is a Microsoft MVP and an MCM. He had a blog on a single Microsoft technology. He mentioned to me once he called Microsoft technical support for a problem on that technology and they started referencing his own blog posts back to him over the phone.

Now I haven't had that happen to me yet, but that would be pretty cool.
    Last edited by STB; 01-08-2014 at 08:22 PM.

Indeed, that would be super cool......

I am sure your site is going to be like a huge reference manual as you continue to add articles...

Perhaps your monetization will consist of ebooks filled with your content.

Naa, if I know my audience, they will keep looking until they find the same content for free. So I don't see the EBook route working for me.