Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: WebsiteBabble contains Malware?

  1. #1

    Default WebsiteBabble contains Malware?

    I just got a message in Google Chrome. When I tried to go to Website Babble, it said WB had malware in it and to not proceed.

    Anyone else getting this message? I'm 100% positive WB doesn't have malware but the message scared me a little :P

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    115

    Default

    I was just coming to post the same thing. I was going to post it on the 2CreateAWebsite page on FB, but there wasn't a button to post a photo. Figured I'd take my chances here. I'm using Firefox.
    After hitting 2 or 3 "ignore this warning" buttons, the site (slowly) loaded along with another tab for "Stop Badware": http://www.stopbadware.org/firefox?h...om%2Fforum.php




  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Pattaya, Thailand
    Posts
    1,823

    Default

    I got the same message today (not yesterday) and I'm on firefox on mac:
    Reported Attack Page!

    "
    This web page at www.websitebabble.com has been reported as an attack page and has been blocked based on your security preferences.

    Attack pages try to install programs that steal private information, use your computer to attack others, or damage your system.Some attack pages intentionally distribute harmful software, but many are compromised without the knowledge or permission of their owners.
    "

    I clicked this is not a malware site, but I don't know, are you? :-)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    11,822

    Default

    I'm on it guys. Thank you. Turns out a WB member had an infected site in their signature and that triggered the warning. I restored the site to an earlier date just to be safe but it looks like that's what caused the issue. I have removed the user's links so hopefully the warning will be lifted in 24 hours.

    So the forum was not infected.

    And unfortunately this member had over 1,000 posts so I had to just delete them all. He also happened to be one of those members who snuck links in his posts here and there. So rather than just disabling his signature, I had to delete all his posts. Another reason it pays to follow the rules about dropping links. Now he'll have to start all over again.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    115

    Default

    Thanks Lisa. I'm on another computer this morning and I didn't get the warning so hopefully it's good now

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    169

    Default

    I am logged on and good this morning also. Yesterday had the same thing happening. Glad to see it back up.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    11,822

    Default

    Yeah thank goodness I have a malware security alert on my account because I may not have seen this till much later. I hate that it was down for most of the day but it would have been worse had I not gotten the email.

    Glad to know the site wasn't infected, but it never looks good to see that ugly alert.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    1,120

    Default

    Good! Glad the site wasn't infected.

    You're right Lisa. It really does pay to follow the rules because I'm sure he worked hard to create all those links but maybe just a little TOO hard.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    11,822

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ileane View Post
    Good! Glad the site wasn't infected.

    You're right Lisa. It really does pay to follow the rules because I'm sure he worked hard to create all those links but maybe just a little TOO hard.
    Uh huh! That's for sure.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Sheffield, United Kingdom
    Posts
    334

    Default

    Just out of interest, has it affected your SEO adversely?
    My design blog • theBluPrint
    Star Trek freeware LCARS app • LCARS 47 Dev Blog

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    137

    Default

    I had this happen to one of my websites one time, and it turned out to be a link I had put in to one of those popular blog directories. Once I took the link out everything returned back to normal. I also know that sometimes there can be malware in advertisements from untrustworthy ad companies.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    11,822

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Eleanor View Post
    Just out of interest, has it affected your SEO adversely?
    No, I was able to correct it so quickly it had no impact. Usually Google gives you a break and gives you a week or two to correct it... thankfully. This has happened to this forum many times. That's one downside of allowing signatures but it just comes with the territory. I've gotten so used to restoring this forum. LOL

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    252

    Default

    you had to manually delete 1000 posts? Was it in one full sweep, or did you literally have to go one-by-one?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Alexandria, MN USA
    Posts
    5,300

    Default

    Also, how do you identify the exact source of the problem like that? Even just knowing it was a link wouldn't tell you much.
    Good Success!

    Douglas County Master Gardeners
    Making money online is not difficult. What is difficult is the discipline one needs to stay focused on the process. —Kathleen Gage

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    137

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by James View Post
    Also, how do you identify the exact source of the problem like that? Even just knowing it was a link wouldn't tell you much.
    I did a search in my html coding for the link when it happened on my site. I don't know if that's how she did it or not.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •