Crave: A modern WordPress theme with appetizing aesthetic

Thread: Linux vs Windows

Default Linux vs Windows

Hi all,

I'm very new to both this forum (found it through Lisa's www.2createawebsite.com) and website building in general so please forgive me if I ask some very elementary questions.

I bought a domain through GoDaddy yesterday as I've used them before for other domains and Website Tonight. However, I would like to build this next site from scratch and learn the nitty gritty of how it all works.

Since I'm familiar with GoDaddy and their great customer service I went ahead and got my hosting through them as well. My question is this:

1. They ask if you want your server through Linux or Windows. What are the pros/cons for each? Their customer service said Linux is used for php and Windows is used for asp and coding. Like I know what that means!

I have Windows Vista, if that makes a difference. I was told I could switch from one to the other later on so I chose Windows. But before I start dinkering on my site I'd like to know if I should switch or stay. Is it even a big issue?

2. And depending on which server I use, is there a Content Management system you all would recommend? Here are their choices:

Community Server
    DotNetNuke
    Drupal
    Joomla
    Mambo
    Moodle
    Nucleus
    PostNuke
    Xoops

If I understand correctly, Linux seems to be more compatable to a wider variety of these. Do I have that right?

Thanks for your help, I'm going to keep browsing and learning. . .

Paula

Default Linux or Windows?

Paula

There are others who are real tech guys and could answer better I'm sure, but since no one else has answered yet here's my two cents. I do know a little about it.