Crave: A modern WordPress theme with appetizing aesthetic

Thread: Can you tell what type of software a site uses just by looking at it?

Default Can you tell what type of software a site uses just by looking at it?

Can you identify the software used to design or run a site just by looking at the site? That may sound like a dumb question, but I'm just starting to learn about this stuff. I know some sites have info at the very bottom of the page that might mention the webmaster, web designer and/or software, but the site I'm interested in does not have any written information posted about the site itself. Any insight or info is appreciated.

Thanks,

Carol

Some software programs put info about the program in the < head > information so you can view the source code to see if anything's there. I know FrontPage used to do that but that doesn't mean people won't remove it. I think CoffeeCup does the same. It depends on the software. But unless you are familiar with the templates a particular software program uses, then I don't know how you would know. For example, Site Build It! sites often use the same templates so there are identifiable attributes of many SBI! sites.

Also, it's important to note that a lot of sites are developed without software and they are hand coded.

Thanks very much for responding, Lisa. Ok, I'm showing just how little I know, but what do you mean by "the < head > information?" Where would I find that?

The site has a banner on top w/animated graphics & text. A web designer who saw the site said that part was done in Flash. (He just viewed the site online, the way anyone could, he didn't have access to anything else.) Does Flash have a certain look to it? (like the identifiable attributes of common templates for Site Build It! in your example.) If part of a site is done in Flash, is it likely the whole site is Flash? Or is it common that someone might use other software for a site, then if they add animation, use flash for just that part?