Website Babble Webmaster Forums  


Go Back   Website Babble Webmaster Forums > Creating a Website > Miscellaneous Website Questions

Your WB Notifications

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2009, 03:31 PM
Jonathan's Avatar
Master Babbler
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 144
Jonathan has more than the average amount of reputation points
Send a message via AIM to Jonathan
Default How to stop my content from being stolen?

********.com is copying my content onto his site. He's someone from Indonesia, according to the WHOIS information.

Any advice for how to find his ISP and contact them? I'm already sending him an email telling him to take my stuff down.
__________________
PHP Tutorials - easily learn programming in PHP.
"Too blessed to be stressed!"

Last edited by Jonathan; 10-06-2009 at 08:46 AM. Reason: Removing the offending URL.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2009, 03:46 PM
lisa's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 7,330
lisa is the Admin and cannot be rated.
Default

Have you tried contacting the web host? You should be able to tell where the site is hosted by the WHOIS info. I haven't had much luck with that because the hosting companies really want to keep them as a customer because it's money for them. But I know those who have had luck with this method.
__________________
Don't put the cart before the horse.
Plan your website, then create it.

Your Free Guide to Starting a Website
http://www.ThePerfectSiteGuide.com



My Latest Blog Post:
Stop Wasting Time on Worthless Techniques

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2009, 03:52 PM
Jonathan's Avatar
Master Babbler
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 144
Jonathan has more than the average amount of reputation points
Send a message via AIM to Jonathan
Default

I'm trying to find out who their host is.

His name was registered through GoDaddy. I'm about to call them and ask for assistance.
__________________
PHP Tutorials - easily learn programming in PHP.
"Too blessed to be stressed!"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2009, 04:36 PM
Jonathan's Avatar
Master Babbler
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 144
Jonathan has more than the average amount of reputation points
Send a message via AIM to Jonathan
Default

On the phone with GoDaddy, his domain owner.

I found out his web host. This site is useful: http://whois.domaintools.com/

Update
I called GoDaddy. At first the guy said, "I don't see where your work is copyrighted." I almost jumped through the phone at him! I told him to scroll down to the bottom and see my copyright symbol and notice and all that. He did and he recommended I email copyrightclaims@godaddy.com, so I just did that and we'll see what happens.

I also emailed him and his web host.

It's not too big of a deal, but I'm interested to see how this is handled. Heck, he even links back to my site because my own posts link to myself.

I'd imagine you have had to deal with this issue a lot, eh Lisa? Fortunately for us, these cheaters rarely succeed, if ever.
__________________
PHP Tutorials - easily learn programming in PHP.
"Too blessed to be stressed!"

Last edited by Jonathan; 10-05-2009 at 05:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2009, 06:11 PM
Ileane's Avatar
Master Babbler
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 197
Ileane is a reputable WB member and has over 100 reputation pointsIleane is a reputable WB member and has over 100 reputation points
Default

Jonathan,
Thanks for the link to domain tools. I am going to stay posted to find out the outcome of this. Copyright can be very tricky, and I am hoping that GoDaddy responds in a timely fashion.
Ileane
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2009, 07:42 PM
sgtmac66's Avatar
Supreme Babbler
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 775
sgtmac66 has an outstanding reputation at WB (over 500 points)sgtmac66 has an outstanding reputation at WB (over 500 points)sgtmac66 has an outstanding reputation at WB (over 500 points)sgtmac66 has an outstanding reputation at WB (over 500 points)sgtmac66 has an outstanding reputation at WB (over 500 points)sgtmac66 has an outstanding reputation at WB (over 500 points)
Default

This is very interesting, and I also would like to see how this turns out. I ran across this sort of thing, back in 2004 or so. Had a friend with a very large military site. Was a guy in California who went around stealing content, from every military site on the web. He was able to do this by having many emails...(I think he had over a thousand) and a ton of fake names.

The only way back then was my friend posted his website and a warning in big orange letters on the bottom of every page. All of us who had links also advertised the warning. As far as I know this fellow is still online. I'm unaware if anything was ever done to this fella, but word sure got around.

He did a lot of sneaky stuff, befriend us then stole our stuff.

Like Lisa suggested, I think the only way these days is to submit a request to the IP of the offending person and have them deal with it. It's a sad fact, that a lot of people on the net can't come up with their own content or at least have the decency to ask to use it.

As a side note, I use a lot of mixed content, both mine and others. I keep good files, am always polite and always ask for permission. You would be surprised how many sites actually give me permission, then thank me for asking permission first. It always surprises me, that someone figures it's easier to steal from someone, then send a quick one or two sentence email, asking or permission.

Keep us posted.
__________________
SgtMac66

Macs RevWar

Last edited by sgtmac66; 10-05-2009 at 07:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-06-2009, 06:32 AM
TechieGuy's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,456
TechieGuy is an exceptional WB member with over 1,000 rep points!TechieGuy is an exceptional WB member with over 1,000 rep points!TechieGuy is an exceptional WB member with over 1,000 rep points!TechieGuy is an exceptional WB member with over 1,000 rep points!TechieGuy is an exceptional WB member with over 1,000 rep points!TechieGuy is an exceptional WB member with over 1,000 rep points!TechieGuy is an exceptional WB member with over 1,000 rep points!TechieGuy is an exceptional WB member with over 1,000 rep points!TechieGuy is an exceptional WB member with over 1,000 rep points!
Default

I used to have someone that stole my content, and I got no reply from him. The next step I did was to contact AdSense, since he used it on his blog. A little while later, I noticed the blog wasn't even functional anymore.

One thing I do like to do is use Google's Alerts to find links to my blog. Much like you, I create links that point back to my blog, so any new links detected by Google will be sent to me.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-06-2009, 08:41 AM
Jonathan's Avatar
Master Babbler
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 144
Jonathan has more than the average amount of reputation points
Send a message via AIM to Jonathan
Default

I was hoping GoDaddy would freeze his domain, but instead they say:

Quote:
We are not hosting this site. We are the domain name registrar only. We have no access to, nor jurisdiction over the content on this site.
So now it's up to the webmaster or his host to do the right thing. I'm not particularly optimistic that they will, but we'll see. In the end, it doesn't matter much. Like Ken Evoy pointed out in an article about copyrights, people who steal content are rarely successful anyway, and the best thing to do is just continue to focus on writing good content.

Apparently the webmaster is a young guy in Indonesia. I saw some pictures of him. Just a kid trying to grab some of those U.S. dollars. Around 49% of the population there lives on less than $2 a day, so even making $5 a day from Adsense would do you pretty good.

* UPDATE *
I just checked his web site and it appears he has taken my content down. That's a pleasant surprise! I'm going to check on his site occasionally in the future but it looks like things are good.

This was a good learning experience. At the very least, now I know that GoDaddy won't help in cases like this.
__________________
PHP Tutorials - easily learn programming in PHP.
"Too blessed to be stressed!"

Last edited by Jonathan; 10-06-2009 at 08:55 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10-13-2009, 08:29 PM
Regular Babbler
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 93
meanne2007 has a few positive reputation points
Default

Try to find the contact and send letter to them, if they not respond..report it to google or other search engine.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:41 PM.


 Subscribe to RSS

WB Sponsors

Search Engine Optimization

flash chat

Home Jobs Online

Search Engine Marketing

Paid Surveys

Web Design Company

custom website design

Best Links Management Software

Online Advertising Solution FREE trial!



 Subscribe to the Website Babble Feeds

2 Create a Website Homepage | 2 Create a Website Blog


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.1.0